While some aspects of the law are confusing or unclear, there's no question about the legality of driving under the influence of alcohol. In every state, there are laws setting limits for the blood alcohol content (BAC) of any person operating a motor vehicle. Georgia, like the vast majority of states, penalizes anyone who gets behind the wheel with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher. For those who are under the age of 21, however, the legal BAC is only 0.02 percent.
Driving under the influence (DUI) charges can result in serious consequences. Understanding the risks involved in a Georgia DUI case can help you make more informed decisions about your legal options.